How do I know my dosha type ? Dosha test

The Three Doshas: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha

As per ayurveda there are five elements present around us that is earth,water,fire,space and air.These elements combine into three basic energies or functional principles, which  are  present,  in  varying  degrees,  in  everything  and  everybody. 

vat pitta kapha .air water space fire and earth

Ayurveda is an ancient system of medicine that originated in India over 5000 years ago. It is based on the idea that every person is unique and requires a personalized approach to health and wellness. According to Ayurveda, the three doshas or energies in the body are responsible for our physical, mental and emotional well-being. The three doshas are Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

Space  (ether)  and air constitute vata.

Fire and water combine to make up pitta.

Water and earth constitute kapha.

Understanding the Doshas

Vata is composed of the elements of air and space, and it governs all movement in the body, including breathing, circulation, and digestion. People who are predominantly Vata tend to be creative, imaginative, and spontaneous but may also be prone to anxiety, insomnia, and constipation.

Pitta is composed of the elements of fire and water, and it governs metabolism and digestion. People who are predominantly Pitta tend to be goal-oriented, driven, and competitive but may also be prone to anger, inflammation, and heartburn.

Kapha is composed of the elements of earth and water, and it governs structure and stability in the body. People who are predominantly Kapha tend to be calm, nurturing, and compassionate but may also be prone to lethargy, weight gain, and congestion.

Health  depends  on  maintaining  this  proportion  in  balance.  Balance  is  the  natural order  of  things;  imbalance  provokes  and  reflects  disorder.

All  three  doshas  are  present  in  each  individual  at  all  times,  but  their  proportion varies from person to person .

Below   chart  on this  page is  a  self-assessment  that  will  enable  you  to determine your unique constitution according to Ayurveda.

Please remember that this can provide only a rough guideline. The subtleties of each person’s  mental,  emotional,  and  physical  makeup  are  manifold  and  can  be  accurately assessed only by a physician thoroughly trained and experienced in Ayurvedic diagnosis. So  please  do  not  draw  any  absolute  conclusions  about  yourself  based  on  the  self- assessment  or  the  descriptions  of  the  doshas;  rather,  use  this  information  to  help  you grow  in  self-understanding,  and  as  a  guide  to  plan  your  diet,  exercise  regimen,  and other aspects of your lifestyle for maximum health.

How to know your body type or dosha? how to do dosha test
how to know dosha as per avyurveda?body type vata ,pitta or kapha?dosha test
After filling out the chart, add up the number of marks under vata, pitta, and kapha to discover your own balance of the doshas.
Most people will have  one  dosha  predominant,  a  few  will  have  two  doshas  approximately  equal,  and even fewer will have all three doshas in equal proportion.
Once  you  have  determined  your  predominant  doshas,  studying  the  characteristics  of  vata,  pitta,  and  kapha  will  help  you  gain  a  deeper  and  more comprehensive understanding.

Remedies for Each Dosha

Vata Dosha:

    1. Practice daily self-massage with warm sesame oil to calm the nervous system and nourish the skin.
    2. Eat warm, grounding foods like soups, stews, and casseroles.
    3. Drink warm, soothing herbal teas like ginger, cinnamon, and licorice.
    4. Practice gentle yoga or stretching exercises to improve circulation and flexibility.
    5. Set a regular sleep schedule and create a calming bedtime routine to promote restful sleep.

      Pitta Dosha:

        1. Avoid spicy, acidic, and fried foods that can irritate the digestive system.
        2. Eat cooling foods like fresh fruits, vegetables, and whole grains.
        3. Drink plenty of water to stay hydrated and support the body’s natural detoxification processes.
        4. Practice calming activities like meditation, deep breathing, and yoga to reduce stress and promote relaxation.
        5. Set healthy boundaries and prioritize self-care to prevent burnout and emotional exhaustion.

          Kapha Dosha:

            1. Engage in regular physical activity to increase metabolism and improve circulation.
            2. Eat light, spicy foods like chili peppers, ginger, and cayenne to stimulate digestion.
            3. Drink warm, stimulating herbal teas like ginger, turmeric, and cardamom.
            4. Practice invigorating yoga or aerobic exercise to boost energy and vitality.
            5. Set achievable goals and maintain a consistent routine to prevent procrastination and stagnation.


            Quick chart of Dosha characteristics of person

            Dosha test